Your single source of information for stage race events.

Back to Listing

Cyprus Sunshine Cup

Enter Now
Event type:
MTB Stage
Entries open:
Event dates:
21 Feb 2019 - 4 day event
± 10 weeks until event
Race Organiser:
Bikin'Cyprus Event Management
Race Director:
Mike Hadjioannou


Cyprus Sunshine Cup

Cyprus Sunshine Cup is one of the most famous Mountainbike Series in the UCI Calendar. It takes place every year in the early season. Cyprus Sunshine Cup races have been organized since many years in the past, with the first race taking place in 1997. The races were under different names and were not in a form of series. Since 2006 the races were renamed to “Cyprus Sunshine Cup” which is an official series in the UCI calendar.

This year the first race is the “Afxentia Stage race” and it has been organized for the past 17 years as a UCI Race, which makes it one of the oldest, if not the oldest existing stage race in Europe. It is organized in honor of the National hero Grigoris Afxentiou who died in the area of Macheras Forest in 1957, during the freedom struggle of 1955-1959.
“Afxentia” is a Hors Class Race (SHC) in the UCI calendar, which gives a big amount of UCI points and prize money to the participants.

The second race of Cyprus Sunshine Cup is taking place inside and around the Archaeological site of the Amathous Kingdom and is a Class 1 registered race in the UCI Calendar.

The number of participants in Cyprus Sunshine Cup is steadily increasing since the first days that it was organized and since 2011 more than 120 Elite riders from 30 countries all over the world stand on the start line each year!

In addition, more and more amateur and hobby riders who look for an early season challenge in beautiful trails and great weather conditions, line up to test themselves against the best in the world!

The best cross country riders in the world attend these races each year to get their first racing kms and to test their early season form. The Cyprus Sunshine Cup has been a standard fixture in the early season racing schedule for may riders including 2011 World Champion and 2012 Olympic Champion Jaroslav Kulhavy, 2008 Olympic Champion Sabine Spitz, the Ghost Factory Racing team with its riders Lisi Osl, Alexandra Engen and Katrin Leumann, Bart Brentjens and his “ Superior Brentjens Mountainbike Racing Team”, Florian Vogel, Jolanda Neff, Pauline Ferrand Prevot, Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa, Irina Kalantieva, Annika Langvad and many more



Weather conditions

Season: Spring

Route Information



Technical Rating:

Stage details

Lefkara - Kionia - Lefkara
Lythrodontas - Kionia - Lythrodontas
Mantra tou Kampiou XCO

Entry Fee details

Entry pp R1620 to 2700 / EUR150

Registration fee for UCI riders: €150 euros per rider for the stage race (4 days) Registration fee for NON-UCI riders: €185 euros per rider for the stage race (4 days) Registration fee for Juniors: €90 per rider for the stage race (4 days) Participants in one-day events: 1st Stage €30, all other stages €55

Enter Now

Please rate this event